Our story

 

Did you know that ...

 

... AXXE’s origins were very similar to the department store and catering concepts of Kaufhof? It was only when it was taken over by Metro that AXXE started to gradually detach itself from this. The first sites to be taken over were those at Linumer Bruch, Kasern (Austria) and Wonnegau West.

 

The extension and development of AXXE as an independent brand began in 1997, following the takeover of the service station at Hörselgau and the construction of Osterfeld West and East sites in 1998. For the first time visitors to the service stations found serviettes, flags (white with a red AXXE logo and the longstanding slogan “Eat Something Good”), as well as the free flow layout which characterises the look and feel of AXXE’s marketing concept. At the same time AXXE Reisegastronomie (travel catering) developed to the become the third business segment of DINEA Gastronomie GmbH, which was spun off from Kaufhof and became an independent entity.

 

 

Setting the trend for service stations

 

With the costly reconstruction of the service stations at Lichtendorf and Wülferode on the AXXE model, the foundation was laid for a rapid expansion on the motorway network. The unparalleled new store concept of the AXXE service stations with their wide selection of food and drinks and relaxed self-service approach was having an impact - AXXE service stations were acquiring trendsetter status with their concept which was unique at that time.

 

Increasing level of recognition in the 2000s

 

In collaboration with the motorway services company, Autobahn Tank & Rast (T&R), a total of 32 service stations, 7 hotels and several petrol stations were converted to and operated under the AXXE concept in the years until 2006. The distinctive brand identity was accompanied by a high presence and an increasing level of recognition. At this time it was already possible to find AXXE restaurants all over Germany.

 

Back to the Roots

In 2009 AXXE Reisegastronomie was sold to T&R and the facilities gained a number of tenants. Who received the largest share? The French company Areas Northern Europe. This meant that AXXE returned to its roots in 2009. The new tenants continued to develop the AXXE service stations and restaurants and their high presence was further extended. Starting with just a few sites, at its peak AXXE operated 31 sites on Germany’s motorways, all with a range of brands and concepts, whereby AXXE is clearly an own brand. In 2016 there are 21 AXXE locations, 7 of which are AXXE mini restaurants.

Here you can get an overview of where AXXE facilities are located, to help you to plan your next break on the motorway!

Unsere Historie

 

Wussten Sie eigentlich, dass …

 

… die Anfänge von AXXE noch sehr an das Warenhaus- und Gastronomiekonzept von Kaufhof erinnerten? Erst mit der Übernahme durch Metro fing AXXE an, sich nach und nach davon zu lösen. Die ersten Standorte, die übernommen wurden, waren Linumer Bruch, Kasern (Österreich) und Wonnegau West.

Der Ausbau und die Entwicklung von AXXE als selbstständige Marke begann um 1997 im Zuge der Übernahme der Standorte Hörselgau und mit den Neubauten von Osterfeld West und Ost im Jahre 1998. Dort fanden Raststätten-Besucher dann auch erstmals Servietten, Fahnen (weiß mit rotem AXXE Logo und dem jahrelangen Slogan „iß was Gutes") sowie eine Free Flow mit Marktcharakter im Look-and-feel von AXXE vor. Die entstandene AXXE Reisegastronomie entwickelte sich parallel dazu zum dritten Standbein der DINEA Gastronomie GmbH, die vom Kaufhof ausgegliedert wurde und eine selbstständige Einheit bildete.

 

 

Der Trendsetter unter den Raststätten

 

Mit dem kostspieligen Umbau der Raststätten Lichtendorf und Wülferode auf das AXXE System wurde die Grundlage für einen rasanten Ausbau an der Autobahn geschaffen. Das unvergleichlich frische Marktkonzept der AXXE Raststätten mit einer vielfältigen Auswahl an Speisen und Getränken und entspannter Selbstbedienung zeigte seine Wirkung – die AXXE Raststätten erhielten durch ihr damals einzigartiges Konzept einen Trendsetter-Status.

 

Wachsender Bekanntheitsgrad in den Nullerjahren

 

Zusammen mit der Autobahn Tank & Rast (T&R) wurden in den Folgejahren bis 2006 insgesamt 32 Raststätten, 7 Hotels und mehrere Tankstellen auf das AXXE Konzept umgestellt und betrieben. Der einheitliche Markenauftritt ging einher mit einer hohen Präsenz und einem wachsenden Bekanntheitsgrad. Schon zu dieser Zeit konnte man die AXXE Restaurants flächendeckend in ganz Deutschland ansteuern.

 

Back to the Roots

2009 wurde die AXXE Reisegastronomie an die T&R verkauft, die Anlagen bekamen mehrere Pächter. Wer den größten Anteil erhielt? Die französische Areas Northern Europe. Dadurch kehrte AXXE im Jahre 2009 zurück zu seinen Wurzeln. Die neuen Pächter entwickelten die AXXE Raststätten und Restaurants weiter – die hohe Präsenz konnte ausgebaut werden. Gestartet mit wenigen Standorten, betrieb AXXE zur Hochphase an Deutschlands Autobahnen 31 Standorte mit unterschiedlichen Marken und Konzepten, wobei AXXE eine reine Eigenmarke ist. Im Jahre 2016 existieren 21 AXXE-Standorte, 7 davon sind AXXE mini Restaurants.

Machen Sie sich einen Überblick über unsere AXXE Standorte, um Ihre nächste Autobahnrast perfekt zu planen!